Amazon IAD-161, IAD-162, IAD-285, IAD-286, IAD-299, IAD-606 and IAD-611 Data Center Facility
Operating · 44254 Import Plaza, Ashburn, VA
Amazon Data Services holds one Virginia DEQ air permit, No. 74214, for seven data centers: IAD-161, IAD-162 and IAD-606 at 44254, 44305 and 44351 Import Plaza in Ashburn, and IAD-285, IAD-286 and IAD-299 on Lockridge Road in Sterling, plus IAD-611. Building A at 44254 Import Plaza is a 258,716 sq ft data center built in 2021 on a 50-acre parcel. The July 9, 2024 permit adds ninety-six 2,750 ekW non-emergency generators with SCR to fifty-two 2,500 ekW emergency units, and allows operation during ISO-declared emergencies.
Overview
- Exact-site power
- Not disclosed
- No exact-site MW figure in cited sources.
- Status
- Operating
- Operating facility
- IT floor area
- Not disclosed
- Facility
- Compute profile
- Hyperscale · Cloud
- Project scope
- One Virginia DEQ permit covers seven Amazon data centers: three at 44254, 44305 and 44351 Import Plaza in Ashburn and three on Lockridge Road in Sterling. Loudoun County lists three commercial buildings on the 50-acre Import Plaza parcel; Building A at 44254 Import Plaza is a 258,716 sq ft data center built in 2021.
Power and grid
- Backup generation
- Permit-wide: fifty-two Caterpillar 3516C-HD emergency gen-sets of 2,500 ekW, ninety-six Caterpillar 3516E non-emergency gen-sets of 2,750 ekW with SCR, particulate filter and oxidation catalyst, plus smaller 3512C, C32 and C18 units
- Grid flexibility
- The air permit lets the gen-sets run during an ISO-declared emergency, including capacity deficiency conditions.
Facility and development
- Construction
- One Virginia DEQ permit covers seven Amazon data centers: three at 44254, 44305 and 44351 Import Plaza in Ashburn and three on Lockridge Road in Sterling. Loudoun County lists three commercial buildings on the 50-acre Import Plaza parcel; Building A at 44254 Import Plaza is a 258,716 sq ft data center built in 2021.
- Facility class
- Hyperscale · Cloud
- Air permits
- Virginia DEQ minor NSR permit, Registration No. 74214 (permits dated May 25, 2021, November 10, 2022 and July 9, 2024)
- Emissions