Ask the Grid
MapMarketsAssetsForecastsDataStoriesPricing
Log inAccountCreate free workspaceOpen workspace
Ask the Grid/
Map
Radar
Forecasts
Assets
Create free workspace
Loading asset profile…
Ask the Grid · Parisi Labs, Inc.
PlatformPricingHelpAboutContactTermsPrivacy
Ask the Grid
MapMarketsAssetsForecastsDataStoriesPricing
Log inAccountCreate free workspaceOpen workspace
Ask the Grid/
Map
Radar
Forecasts
Assets
Create free workspace
Loading asset profile…
Ask the Grid · Parisi Labs, Inc.
PlatformPricingHelpAboutContactTermsPrivacy
MapMarketsAssetsForecastsDataStoriesPricing
Dashboard
Markets
Grid agentNew
Your work
ProjectsEarly access
Saved
Alerts
Reports
Reference
Wire
Stories
Views
Data
Preferences
Create free workspace
Developers
Settings
History
Invites
Website · About · Legal · Privacy · Changelog · © 2026 Parisi Labs
MapMarketsAssetsForecastsDataStoriesPricing
Dashboard
Markets
Grid agentNew
Your work
ProjectsEarly access
Saved
Alerts
Reports
Reference
Wire
Stories
Views
Data
Preferences
Create free workspace
Developers
Settings
History
Invites
Website · About · Legal · Privacy · Changelog · © 2026 Parisi Labs
  1. Home
  2. /Assets
  3. /Generation
  4. /Ohio
  5. /Middletown Coke Company

Middletown Coke Company

SunCoke Energy, Inc.Butler CountyPJM

Middletown Coke Company, LLC is a 67 MW other gases plant in Butler County. SunCoke Energy's Middletown, Ohio plant is a heat-recovery cokemaking facility that opened in 2011 and uses coke-oven waste heat to generate electricity for resale. Middletown Coke Company, a SunCoke affiliate, agreed to supply coke and electrical power to AK Steel under a contract of at least 20 years. SunCoke includes Middletown among its domestic cokemaking and heat recovery operations. In its second quarter 2026 results it reported that the Middletown turbine resumed operations and power generation.

WebsiteOpen in grid
Loading map…
OverviewUnitsPerformanceGridCommercialEntitiesSourcesMedia

Overview

Natural gas nameplate
67 MW
Operating · EIA generator registry
Registry anchor
Plant 57822
plant-57822

Structured profile

Technology
Other Gases
Operator
SunCoke Energy, Inc.
Operating status
Operating

Generation and physical site

EIA plant 57822 · Inventory reporting month unavailable.

Reported operating nameplate by technology

Natural gas
67 MW

Operating generators only. Battery power is in MW; stored energy is in MWh. These ratings do not establish a shared export limit.

Generator records (1)
EIA generator status and nameplate capacity for selected plant
GeneratorTechnologyStatusPower (MW)Energy (MWh)
YNKEOther GasesOperating67Unknown
Sources and observation dates
Inventory source
EIA generator registry
EIA reporting month
Not reported
EIA retrieved
Not reported
OSM extract
Not reported
OSM last mapped edit
Not reported
Map prepared
Not reported
Field verification
Not reported

Reporting month describes the inventory. Retrieval and map preparation describe processing; an OSM edit does not establish an in-service date.

EIA source inventory

Related assets

Similar plants ranked by technology, capacity, and distance.

Haverhill North Cogeneration Facility

Other · 67 MW

Scioto County

Same type·Comparable scale·104 mi away
Compare with this plant

Cleveland Works

Other · 80 MW

Cuyahoga County

Same type·Comparable scale·199 mi away
Compare with this plant

Mon Valley Works

Other · 52.5 MW

Allegheny County

Same type·Comparable scale·249 mi away
Compare with this plant

ExxonMobil Oil Joliet Refinery

Other · 36.9 MW

Will County

Same type·240 mi away
Compare with this plant

Clairton Works

Other · 31 MW

Allegheny County

Same type·246 mi away
Compare with this plant

Bayway Refinery

Other · 11.2 MW

Union County

Same type·544 mi away
Compare with this plant

Units and generators

Operating generator records and technology attributes reported through EIA-860.

GeneratorCapacityTechnologyOperationStatus
YNKE
67 MW
38 MW summer
Other Gases
Other Gas · ST
Dec 2011
Operating

Performance

Monthly EIA generation history and recent market-resource behavior where linked telemetry is available.

Peer context

Technology capacity
67 MW
Other Gases
National rank
#8
of 28 operating peers
OH rank
#2
of 3 operating peers

Monthly generation

Download CSV
Latest 12 months
349.5 GWh
Reported net generation
Latest report
Dec 2024
EIA-923 monthly filing
2024 capacity factor
59.4%
Using current reported nameplate capacity
Jan 2022: 33.4 GWh2022-01Feb 2022: 28.8 GWhMar 2022: 31.1 GWhApr 2022: 28.4 GWhMay 2022: 25.6 GWhJun 2022: 25.6 GWhJul 2022: 29 GWh2022-07Aug 2022: 31.8 GWhSep 2022: 32.1 GWhOct 2022: 31.2 GWhNov 2022: 25.4 GWhDec 2022: 30.5 GWhJan 2023: 32.6 GWh2023-01Feb 2023: 28.6 GWhMar 2023: 26.3 GWhApr 2023: 24.7 GWhMay 2023: 25.3 GWhJun 2023: 29.6 GWhJul 2023: 28.1 GWh2023-07Aug 2023: 28.3 GWhSep 2023: 30.4 GWhOct 2023: 27.6 GWhNov 2023: 22.9 GWhDec 2023: 28.7 GWhJan 2024: 32.2 GWh2024-01Feb 2024: 29.5 GWhMar 2024: 26.6 GWhApr 2024: 24.6 GWhMay 2024: 30.3 GWhJun 2024: 25.9 GWhJul 2024: 27.8 GWh2024-07Aug 2024: 32.7 GWhSep 2024: 33.5 GWhOct 2024: 28 GWhNov 2024: 29.6 GWhDec 2024: 28.7 GWh2024-12

Monthly generation is reported through EIA-923. Capacity factor uses the current EIA nameplate capacity and is shown only for complete calendar years.

Connect private telemetry

Bring live output and availability beside this plant’s public operating record.

Explore Private Grid

Grid and market context

Deterministic links to ERCOT market resources, price records, outage disclosures, queue records, and nearby infrastructure. Candidate joins remain labeled until corroborated.

Market registration

PJM node registry
Settlement point
1869196082
Named for this plant; none of its resources settle here
Market resources
0 resources
Not identified
Registered capability
Not disclosed

Nearby substations

HIFLD infrastructure inventory
UNKNOWN112828
IN SERVICE · 69 kV
0.1 km
UNKNOWN112829
IN SERVICE · 69 kV
0.4 km
UNKNOWN137422

Commercial, land, and environmental record

Source-backed project transactions, agreements, land records, permits, and environmental disclosures. Portfolio and adjacent-project facts remain explicitly scoped.

Transactions and agreements

Commercial Operation
2011
Listed in SunCoke’s company history.
SunCoke Energy, Inc.
suncoke.com

Related parties and identifiers

Parties, market resources, and identifiers tied to this asset, with owner, operator, developer, EPC, compliance provider, and interconnecting entity roles kept separate.

Relationship graph

Drag organizations to explore the network. Select a node to pin its details and available page link.

AssetOwner / operatorProject companyOfftakerRelated asset

Parties and identifiers

OrganizationRoleBasisOpen
SunCoke Energy, Inc.Owner / operatorownerMiddletown Coke CompanyAffiliateproject companyAK SteelOfftakerofftaker

Reporting portfolio

EIA reporting entity
SunCoke Energy, Inc.
Entity 56069
Operating portfolio
2 plants
1 states
Reported capacity
134 MW
Other Gases
Largest reported plants in this portfolio
Largest reported plantsCapacityState
Middletown Coke Company, LLCCurrent67 MWOH
Haverhill North Cogeneration Facility67 MWOH

Portfolio membership follows the latest EIA-860 reporting entity. It does not imply ultimate ownership.

View full reporting portfolio

Timeline and sources

Project milestones and public references behind the asset profile.

Project timeline

  1. 2011
    2011
    Middletown heat-recovery cokemaking facility openssuncoke.com

    Listed in SunCoke’s company history.

  2. Dec 2011
    Dec 2011
    Generator enters operationEIA-860

    EIA-860 lists generator YNKE with this operating date.

  3. May 2026
    May 2026
    Middletown turbine returned to servicesuncoke.com

    Following a turbine failure that lowered energy sales.

Sources

PublisherReferenceTypeOpen
U.S. Energy Information AdministrationEIA-860 generator inventoryFederal registryU.S. Energy Information AdministrationEIA-923 generation filingsFederal filingreliableplant.comreliableplant.compublic_sourcesuncoke.comsuncoke.compublic_sourcesuncoke.comsuncoke.compublic_source

Common questions about Middletown Coke Company

Answered from the published record above. Questions whose inputs this profile does not carry are omitted rather than estimated.

How big is Middletown Coke Company?

Middletown Coke Company reports 67 MW natural gas of operating nameplate capacity. These technology ratings do not establish a common export limit. Source: EIA Form 860M.

What kind of plant is Middletown Coke Company?

Middletown Coke Company is a Other Gases facility in Butler County, OH, participating in the PJM market.

Where is Middletown Coke Company located?

Middletown Coke Company is in Butler County, OH, inside the PJM balancing area.

Who operates Middletown Coke Company?

Middletown Coke Company is operated by SunCoke Energy, Inc. according to the EIA generator inventory. Reporting membership does not by itself establish ultimate ownership.

How much electricity does Middletown Coke Company generate?

Middletown Coke Company reported 349.5 GWh over the twelve months to 2024-12. Figures are net generation as filed to EIA-923.

How does Middletown Coke Company compare to other plants?

By capacity, Middletown Coke Company ranks #8 of 28 operating plants of the same technology nationally. It ranks #2 of 3 in OH.

Co-located assets

Plants within 25 km, nearest first, regardless of technology. Proximity is straight-line distance between mapped plant coordinates; it does not by itself establish a shared point of interconnection.

Dick's CreekNatural Gas Fired Combustion TurbineNatural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine159 MW2.2 kmMiddletown Energy CenterNatural Gas Fired Combined CycleNatural Gas Fired Combined Cycle544 MW4.7 kmWoodsdaleNatural Gas Fired Combustion TurbineNatural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine572 MW5.7 kmMadisonNatural Gas Fired Combustion TurbineNatural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine
IN SERVICE · 69 kV
0.5 km
TAP137423
IN SERVICE · 69 kV
0.8 km
TAP137614
IN SERVICE · 69 kV
2.1 km
692 MW
5.9 km
CZ Solar Warren, LLCSolar PhotovoltaicSolar Photovoltaic20 MW9.8 km
Hamilton HydroConventional HydroelectricConventional Hydroelectric2 MW15 km

Explore related directories

  • All power plants
  • Explore Ohio
  • Facilities associated with SunCoke Energy, Inc.