Desert Sunlight 300, LLC is a solar power facility with 313.7 MW of EIA-reported operating capacity in Riverside County, California, registered as EIA Plant ID 57993. Project filings list 4,854,545 solar panels for the facility. Commercial operation began in January 2015. The facility interconnects at Red Bluff Substation at 230 kV.
Mapped infrastructure geometry associated with this asset.
Solar Photovoltaic
Desert Sunlight 300, LLC is operating.
230 kV · Southern California Edison (SCE)
EIA plant 57993 · Inventory for Sep 2026.
| Generator | Technology | Status | Power (MW) | Energy (MWh) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DSL1 | Solar Photovoltaic | Operating | 40.3 | Unknown |
| DSL10 | Solar Photovoltaic | Operating | 30.2 | Unknown |
| DSL11 | Solar Photovoltaic | Operating | 20.2 | Unknown |
| DSL2 | Solar Photovoltaic | Operating | 40.3 | Unknown |
| DSL3 | Solar Photovoltaic | Operating |
Similar plants ranked by technology, capacity, and distance.
Current generator records and technology attributes reported through EIA-860.
| Generator | Capacity | Technology | Operation | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DSL1 | 40.3 MW 40.3 MW summer | Solar Photovoltaic PV | Nov 2013 | Operating |
| DSL10 | 30.2 MW 30.2 MW summer | Solar Photovoltaic PV | Nov 2013 | Operating |
| DSL11 | 20.2 MW 20.2 MW summer | Solar Photovoltaic PV | Nov 2013 | Operating |
| DSL2 | 40.3 MW 40.3 MW summer | Solar Photovoltaic PV | Nov 2013 | Operating |
| DSL3 | 40.3 MW 40.3 MW summer | |||
Monthly EIA generation history and recent market-resource behavior where linked telemetry is available.
Deterministic links to ERCOT market resources, price records, outage disclosures, queue records, and nearby infrastructure. Candidate joins remain labeled until corroborated.
Source-backed project transactions, agreements, land records, permits, and environmental disclosures. Portfolio and adjacent-project facts remain explicitly scoped.
Parties, market resources, and identifiers tied to this asset, with owner, operator, developer, EPC, compliance provider, and interconnecting entity roles kept separate.
Drag organizations to explore the network. Select a node to pin its details and available page link.
Project milestones and public references behind the asset profile.
Development of the Desert Sunlight Solar Farm began.
CAISO
CAISO · Riverside County
| 40.3 |
| Unknown |
| DSL4 | Solar Photovoltaic | Operating | 30.2 | Unknown |
|---|
| DSL5 | Solar Photovoltaic | Operating | 25.2 | Unknown |
|---|
| DSL6 | Solar Photovoltaic | Operating | 25.2 | Unknown |
|---|
| DSL7 | Solar Photovoltaic | Operating | 20.2 | Unknown |
|---|
| DSL8 | Solar Photovoltaic | Operating | 18.9 | Unknown |
|---|
| DSL9 | Solar Photovoltaic | Operating | 22.7 | Unknown |
|---|
Monthly generation is reported through EIA-923. Capacity factor uses the current EIA nameplate capacity and is shown only for complete calendar years.
Portfolio membership follows the latest EIA-860 reporting entity. It does not imply ultimate ownership.
The Bureau of Land Management issued the project's right-of-way grant in August 2011.
First Solar completed the sale of the Desert Sunlight project including Desert Sunlight 300, LLC to affiliates of NextEra Energy Resources and GE Energy Financial Services on September 30, 2011. First Solar sold a 50% interest to each buyer. Financial details of the transaction were not disclosed.
Construction of the broader Desert Sunlight project began in September 2011.
The DOE Loan Programs Office approved a partial loan guarantee for approximately $1.46 billion of project loans; the DOE project summary records the issuance date as September 2011.
First Solar announced completion of the sale of the 550-MW Desert Sunlight project to affiliates of NextEra Energy Resources and GE Energy Financial Services. Each buyer acquired 50%; financial details were not disclosed. First Solar retained construction and subsequent operation-and-maintenance roles under separate agreements.
EIA-860 lists generator DSL1, generator DSL10, generator DSL11, generator DSL2, generator DSL3, generator DSL4 with this operating date.
EIA-860 lists generator DSL5 with this operating date.
EIA-860 lists generator DSL6, generator DSL7 with this operating date.
EIA-860 lists generator DSL8, generator DSL9 with this operating date.
The DOE project summary states that the broader Desert Sunlight facility reached full commercial operations in January 2015.
EFS Desert Sun, LLC and NRG Yield Operating LLC executed a purchase and sale agreement under which NRG Yield would acquire GE's remaining 25% interest. The announced consideration was $285 million plus assumption of $287.4 million of non-recourse project debt; the transaction was expected to close by June 30, 2015.
A contemporaneous report said CalPERS would acquire a stake through Gulf Power Pacific, a Harbert-managed vehicle backed by CalPERS. The retrieved record does not disclose the seller, exact percentage, or consideration.
NextEra Energy Partners announced an agreement to acquire an indirect 24% interest in Desert Sunlight Investment Holdings from a subsidiary of NextEra Energy Resources for a $218 million purchase price, subject to customary closing conditions and expected fourth-quarter 2016 completion. The price accounted for approximately $258 million of existing non-recourse project debt.
Answered from the published record above. Questions whose inputs this profile does not carry are omitted rather than estimated.
Desert Sunlight 300 reports 313.7 MW solar of operating nameplate capacity. These technology ratings do not establish a common export limit. Source: EIA Sep 2026.
Desert Sunlight 300 is a Solar Photovoltaic facility in Riverside County, CA, participating in the CAISO market.
Desert Sunlight 300 is in Riverside County, CA, inside the CAISO balancing area.
Desert Sunlight 300 is operated by NextEra Energy Desert Sunlight 300, LLC according to the EIA generator inventory. Reporting membership does not by itself establish ultimate ownership.
Desert Sunlight 300 reported 666.9 GWh over the twelve months to 2024-12. Figures are net generation as filed to EIA-923.
Desert Sunlight 300 interconnects at Red Bluff Substation, on the Southern California Edison (SCE) system.
By capacity, Desert Sunlight 300 ranks #38 of 7,597 operating plants of the same technology nationally. It ranks #4 of 972 in CA.
Plants within 25 km, nearest first, regardless of technology. Proximity is straight-line distance between mapped plant coordinates; it does not by itself establish a shared point of interconnection.